Skip to content

Azerbaijan’s 2017 Eurovision Entry Keeping you awake at night with Skeletons.

March 31, 2017

Dihaj

To be honest, Dihaj does a very good job at giving the impression that they don’t care whether they win or not.  Which I find rather winning.  They’re not looking to provide a catchy refrain that Europe can dance to or a sequence of motivational truism pulled out of a hat in no particular order.  After all, Azerbaijan have won the competition already, not so long ago, so they’re not desperate.  They just want to express themselves – which they do in this video.  They want to do some stompy techno trauma and they want the biggest audience they’re ever going to get for their stompy techno trauma.

This video is not trying to “sell” Azerbaijan to the casual traveler.  This could have been filmed in any one of dozens of countries.  Or, any one of dozens of countries that are so radioactive that you can see through your own flesh on a regular basis.

As you can see here…

As for the song itself – it’s not quite there, melodically.  The verses build to an intended climax that doesn’t quite deliver the payoff you’d want.  The essential problem is the defining problem for all sorts of almost successful songs – you can’t hum it five minutes after hearing it.  I like the sound of it though, while I’m hearing it.   It’s gloomy and relentless and it has big drums in all the right places.  However (and bear in mind that I can’t remember ever accurately predicting a Eurovision winner), it doesn’t quite have the mnemonic efficacy to make it stand out after two or more hours of songs.

I think the words to this blizzard from Baku look better if they’re arranged in a block paragraph rather than lineated as verse.  They are scarier this way…

 

Standing in a mirror lane wondering what, to do Another day and gravity’s got, got another hold of me I never dreamed that this could be happening, not to me But if he came falling down falling so hard, I started believing Now I’m into daydreams Amazed by thorn jeans Deep into high extremes When I’m with him it’s fantasy We’re just like alchemy Oh I feel ready Have my skeletons [I can only trick you once, bad boy] Have my lungs, my millions [Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy] Drum drum drum, bring out the guns [Drum drum drum, bring out the guns, bad boy] I’m so so cursed [Fuss and fight won’t get you tons] Bad boy The world is spinning faster by the minute and I’m longing to be saved This bitter sweet sensation got a, got another hold of me Now I’m stuck in daydreams Surrounded by thorn jeans Deep into high extremes When we hook up it’s fantasy We’re just like alchemy I’ve never been so ready Have my skeletons [I can only trick you once, bad boy] Have my lungs, my millions [Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy] Drum drum drum, bring out the guns [Drum drum drum, bring out the guns, bad boy] I’m so so cursed [Fuss and fight won’t get you tons] Bad boy [I can only trick you once, bad boy] I can only trick you once [Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy] [Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy] Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues Drum drum drum, bring out the guns [Drum drum drum, bring out the guns, bad boy] Bad boy Fuss and fight won’t get you tons, bad boy [Fuss and fight won’t get you tons] Have my skeletons [I can only trick you once, bad boy] Have my lungs, my millions [Talk is cheap don’t speak in tongues, bad boy] Have my skeletons [Drum drum drum, bring out the guns, bad boy]  I’m so so cursed [Fuss and fight won’t get you tons] Have my skeletons.

Sometimes poetry is more eloquent if it’s delivered in a prosaic slab than if it is traditionally lineated.   Here’s a slab of desperation for your delectation.

Baku is, of course, a Caspian oil hub that is east of Baghdad.  Azerbaijan’s relation to Europe has long depended upon its relation to Russia.  It has never, on its own, been regarded as part of the European continent, but it has been part of a much much bigger country that has been.  The European-ness of Azerbaijan cannot be historically disentangled from the European-ness of Russia itself.

If Russia is excluded this year, or if Russia gives up competing for a while, certain nations will feel rather lonely and stranded at Eurovision and their sense of an imagined Europe will need some revision.

Armenia’s Entry is nowhere near as scary:

https://conradbrunstrom.wordpress.com/2017/03/26/she-once-met-whitney-houston-apparently-armenias-2017-eurovision-entry/

In the meantime here are my thoughts on the Australian entry:

https://conradbrunstrom.wordpress.com/2017/03/22/oldyoung-isaiah-firebrace-australias-2017-eurovision-entry/

And here’s Albania…

https://conradbrunstrom.wordpress.com/2017/03/15/albanias-2017-eurovision-entry-the-centerpiece-of-a-dystopian-german-expressionist-musical-called-fritzlanglangland/

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

