Skip to content

Old/Young Isaiah Firebrace. Australia’s 2017 Eurovision Entry.

March 22, 2017

Isaiah

So, it’s to become a regular thing is it?  Australia in Eurovision.  Well, I suppose Europe is as Europe does.  You’re as European as you feel.  And right now, Canberra feels closer to the heart of Europe than Canterbury and before very  long, Australia Fair is set fair to  become the biggest Anglophone nation in Europe.

And they’re giving us the prophet Isaiah to fall in love with and follow.

Now there’s a name and a half – “Isaiah Firebrace”.   “Isaiah Firebrace” sounds like the subject of a sentence with the necessary predicate “… is trapped in his compound with a hundred of his most loyal followers and a crate of AK47s and suicide pills.”  It’s the kind of name that suggests the kind of moral authority needed to denounce Moabites and Ammonites and Trilobites etc. etc.  He’s an indigenous Australian who has achieved  huge amount in his very few years, and his nation is investing heavily in the singer not just the song.  I’m now very curious about 21st century indigenous Australian naming conventions.

The song itself is not to be confused with “It Don’t Come Easy”, Ringo Starr’s big hit from the early 70s.

Isaiah is very young indeed, and based on the extreme close ups favoured by the official Australian video,  everybody in the world is intended to fall love with him.  For my part, I’ve been teaching Jonathan Swift for the past few weeks, and the idea of seeing human flesh in extreme close up has started to fill me with the same sense of unease as Gulliver felt among the Brobdingnagians.   I keep wanting to step back a bit.

You’re not so much voting on a song as contracting to melt into his eyes.  Prepare to melt. Or not.

The song itself has a remarkably aged feel to it.  Isaiah, though only in his mid teens, has been burned by love so often that it’s hard for him to love again.  Imagine carrying Leonard Cohen’s life experience in a body loaned from some off cut from One Direction.  You may be intoxicated by this old-young virtuoso performance, just as you are amused by Australia’s near-far relationship with Europe.

This may win.

Here are his lyrics…

I can tell by your eyes you want more than this
But can we be much more beyond these sheets
No I don’t
Don’t wanna mess with your head
But my love
It’s hard to love again

It don’t come easy
And it don’t come cheap
Been burned too many times
To love easily
Don’t mistake me
My love runs deep
But it don’t come easy
It don’t come cheap
No not with me

I used to move in fast to erase my past
But it never works no it never lasts no
In my mind
I gotta get things right
Take it slow
Before I jump this time

No it don’t come easy
No it don’t come cheap
Been burned too many times
To love easily
Don’t mistake me
My love runs deep
But it don’t come easy
It don’t come cheap
No not with me

And if you think
I’ve got a heart of stone
You couldn’t be more wrong
Ooh
You might think
I’ve been afraid too long
Afraid of love

But it don’t come easy
Been burned too many times
To love easily
Don’t mistake me
My love runs deep
But it don’t come easy
It don’t come cheap
No not with me
Ooh
No not with me
Ooh
Don’t mistake me
My love runs deep
But it don’t come easy
It don’t come cheap
No not with me.

In the meantime, here are my thought’s on Albania’ entry…

https://conradbrunstrom.wordpress.com/2017/03/15/albanias-2017-eurovision-entry-the-centerpiece-of-a-dystopian-german-expressionist-musical-called-fritzlanglangland/

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

