Skip to content

Remember the… er… hang on…. it’ll come to me….

March 6, 2017

On the anniversary of the Battle of the Alamo…

conradbrunstrom

alamo

Some years ago I was in San Antonio for a conference.

It occurred to me that it would be hilarious if I had my picture taken in front of the Alamo looking puzzled, as though I’d forgotten something.

You know – because then I clearly couldn’t “Remember the Alamo” even when it was standing right behind me.

So, when I got home, I put this image up on Facebook with the caption “Struggling to remember something…”

But nobody got the joke.   Not only does nobody remember the Alamo – nobody seems to remember “Remember the Alamo”.

The climax of the Battle of the Alamo was on this very date.  March 6th.  Remember?

1836.  Bowie, and Travis and Crockett etc.  met their strange apotheosis exactly 181 years ago today at the hands of Santa Ana’s besieging forces.   I remember seeing an intriguing documentary which suggested that the last of…

View original post 410 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

