Skip to content

Do Trump voters deserve Christmas?

December 20, 2016

trump-christmas

Obviously this is a silly question.  Because obviously they don’t.

Now, let’s be clear – I’m not saying that everyone who voted for Donald Trump is a horrible person.  But I am saying that everyone who voted for Donald Trump did a horrible thing.  Hate the sin, love the sinner, that’s my motto.  And it’s in a spirit of love and forgiveness that I truly believe that the best way any Trump voter can spend December 25 2016 is alone on their knees in a darkened room meditating on the sheer wickedness of what they’ve done.  The best way of reaching out and loving Trump voters is to wish them upon them the precious gift of penitence.

Good people do bad thing sometimes.  But when you, as an otherwise “good” person help give a mandate to a vicious sociopath who has abused power his entire life and who is certain to use the office of the Presidency to hurt a great many people – then you need to think long and hard about what’s wrong in your life.

I’m particularly concerned that there are people out there who can vote Trump in November and feel they are allowed to celebrate the birth of Christ in December.  Because they absolutely can’t.  Trump is, in many ways, an AntiChrist.  Not in a spooky Omen movie sense, but in the more careful and precise sense that Trump is the antithesis of the essential substance and grammar not merely of Christianity but of the entire Abrahamic family tree of mainstream monotheism.  Trump never apologises and never forgives.   The very grammar of repentance and forgiveness is alien to him.  He preaches bad news to the poor and comfort to the rich and arrogant.  Your could rewrite the Magnificat, the Lord’s Prayer and the Sermon on the Mount antonymically and come up with a fair statement of Donald Trump’s belief system.  He is not only vehemently opposed to the defining strands of Judaeo-Christian thought, but his commitment to self-interested mendacity, his refusal to admit any possibility of a “Truth” that is external to Donald Trump’s advantage at any given moment, means that theism of any kind is alien to him.  He does not think he can ever be judged by anything bigger than himself.  He cannot stand in awe of anything bigger than himself and he acts as though the  universe only exists to flatter his own ego.  In short, the Old and New Testaments treat Trumps as recurring antagonists.

So, if you voted Trump in November and you are looking forward celebrating the birth of Christ in December – then you are suffering from an advanced form of cognitive dysfunction.  You are a danger to yourself and others.  You should not be allowed to drive a car or operate heavy machinery.  And although it is difficulty to carve up a plateful of turkey dinner using a plastic knife and fork, you should not be trusted with real cutlery.

Does this sound judgmental?  Well, I don’t deserve to have Christmas either.  I am stained and shamed with the passport of a very wrong nation.  Without the hideously inspirational example of the horrible Brexit campaign, I do not believe that Trump would have prevailed.  Ever since November I have been apologising to every American citizen I know. I’ve been hugging and trying to offer comfort.  I am confident that the USA will somehow survive the Trump years – and equally convinced that Britain will not survive for very much longer.

Brexit and Trump have taught me some very harsh lessons about myself in 2016.  I have been an idiot and a coward.  My arrogance and complacency blinded me to just how much horribleness there has been in Britain in recent years and this willful blindness feels extremely culpable.  At the year’s close, I feel that I’m a profound moral failure and I deserve to choke on my Christmas pudding.  Instinctively, I feel I need to resolve to be much much tougher on myself in 2017.

But of course, I won’t be spending December 25 in a penitential cell.  I’ll be spending it with family around a big table.  Even if I don’t deserve Christmas this year – my family most certainly do, and a degree of jollification on my part is necessary to sustain an essential familial obligation.  Somehow or other, the glaring discrepancy between a spirit (however theologically or psychologically comprehended) of love and reconciliation and peace and charity and goodwill and hohoho  – and the triumphant political register of stupidity and hatred needs to be illuminated.   The yawning chasm between the political morality of 2016 and the Spirit of Christmas needs to spur a sense of chastening urgency of miraculous redemption.   Because that’s a magical magical Christmas that I feel required to believe in.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

