Skip to content

Croatia’s 2016 Eurovision Entry

April 13, 2016

kraljic

I think we’d all agree that Croatia is blessed with lots and lots of dramatic jagged coastline.  “Crinkly bits” as Slartibartfast used to say.

Nina Kraljic is a winner of the Croatian version of “The Voice” and in keeping with the defining disciplines of that show, she doesn’t appear in the promo video at all.  Which is here.

Usually, videos which ignore the singer, tend instead to serve a tourist information function, showcasing the many wonderful reasons to visit the nation in question.  But this video doesn’t do this either.  I am informed that a summer holiday in Croatia offers sunny skies and some of the most lovely beaches in Europe.  This video offers thunderstorms instead.  Indeed, the video serves the words of the song with remarkable and in some ways admirable fidelity.  Here are the words.

Lightning strikes on the sea
Breaking waves around me

Stormy tides and I feel
My ship capsizing

Out of sight – saving shore
Ever gone – evermore

Ropes untied – rain that pours
The waters rising

pre-chorus:
In devastating times
I keep this hope of mine
Even in the darkest night

chorus 1:
’cause there is a light
Guiding my way
Keeping me safe when oceans rage

There in the sky
Hiding away
Never to die and fade

I know that I’ll find your

Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse

verse2:
Harbours near
No more fear
Wall of clouds disappears

So I steer to the pier
In tears – arriving

pre-chorus2:
No devastating times
I kept this hope of mine
Even in the darkest night

chorus 2:
’cause there is a light
Guiding my way
Keeping me safe when oceans rage

There in the sky
Hiding away
Never to die and fade

I know that I’ll find your

Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse

chorus 3:
’cause there is a light
Guiding my way
Keeping me safe when oceans rage

There in the sky
Hiding away
Never to die and fade

I know that I’ll find your

Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse
Your lighthouse

 

Now, the funny thing is, I think this might be that rarest of things – a religious Eurovision song.  There is no human presence in the video, and nothing suggestive of Eros in the words.  Instead there is a sense of a frail human voice addressing a presence that will save you from thunder, lightning, waves and cliffs.  Yes, I think the song is actually a prayer.

This is the most disembodied song I’ve heard so far from this year’s selection.  It addresses not a lighthouse-keeper (who rarely provide romantic interest in songs), but the OWNER of a lighthouse.  Not many lighthouse keepers have ever owned their own lighthouses.   A lighthouse is rarely thought of in terms of ownership at all – clearly she’s not addressing the Croatian government.  No, this is a addressing an abstract eternal power that offers lighthouses by way of salvation.

All lighthouses are, in the twenty-first century, automated in any case.  Unmanned. (Or unstaffed).

In the meantime, here’s Hungary

https://conradbrunstrom.wordpress.com/2016/04/12/hungarys-2016-eurovision-entry/

And Moldova

https://conradbrunstrom.wordpress.com/2016/04/11/moldovas-2016-eurovision-entry/

And Greece

Greece’s 2016 Eurovision Entry

And Finland

Finland’s 2016 Eurovision Entry

Here’s Austria by the way…

Austria’s 2016 Eurovision Entry

Here’s Armenia

Armenia’s 2016 Eurovision Entry

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

