Skip to content

“Go Set a Watchman” threatens the status of “To Kill a Mockingbird” and makes it harder to teach. And this is a very good thing.

April 5, 2016

Gregory Peck was born 100 years ago today – so I’m re-blogging this.

conradbrunstrom

Atticus

Sorry to be so slow with my 2 cents worth.  I’m sure the whole issue of how to read this “new” Harper Lee novel has been all clevered out by cleverer folks than I by now. But I’ve a few thoughts.

I’ve been slow because before I could start reading Go Set a Watchman, I felt I had to reread To Kill a Mockingbird -something I haven’t done in a great many years.  There’s something about its extraordinary ubiquity as a secondary school set text that has long made the idea of rereading it seem profoundly off putting.   Having to carry such an immense quantity of pedagogic baggage has been a sad, sorry and unfair burden for any book to carry.  It’s been taught in so many schools for so long, it is a wonder that there is any life left in it at all, that it hasn’t…

View original post 1,293 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

