Skip to content

Minutes of an Annual General Meeting of the Hell Fire Club

January 5, 2016

On the cusp of BSECS – I’m reblogging this… Oxford, here I come.

conradbrunstrom

hellfire

Last summer I found myself at a book-fair in Marlow.  Nuzzling, half hidden, upon one of the more antiquarian tables, I discovered my prize, my rare prize, nothing less than a first edition of the collected poems of Paul Whitehead.  Feverish with excitement, I made an unreasonable offer, secured my precious book and hurried away to enjoy.

Settling myself down to enjoy Whitehead’s masterpiece (“The State Dunces”), I found my intentions frustrated by the fact that many of the pages remained uncut.  This added an extra frisson to the adventure, for I was to be the very very first reader of much of this material.   Drawing my trusty paper cutter from its sheath (kept about my person for precisely this emergency), I deftly cut the virgin page and to my astonishment three or four very thin pieces of paper fell into my lap – each leaf covered with a dense…

View original post 668 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

