Skip to content

Happy 100th Birthday Dylan Thomas

October 26, 2015

Dylan Thomas is 101 years old today. Here are my ponderings from last year’s centenary.

conradbrunstrom

DylanThomas

Dylan Thomas was born 100 years ago today.  Of course, like most people born 100 years ago today, he’s no longer with us. Dylan Thomas was never going to make it to 100.  Or 80.  Or 60.  Or 40 in the event.  Along with Brendan Behan – whom he physically resembled, he was one of the most celebrated drinkers of the twentieth century.  (Behan was never as passionate as Thomas but was usually funnier.)

I can’t help but thinking of someone I knew at university who was obsessed by Dylan Thomas.  He once lurched up to me in a bar, put his arm around me and said to me “Conrad… acting is in my blood see – I need to be an actor.  But more than that, more urgently than that… I need to be a PROFESSIONAL Welshman.”

I’m sure he’s doing something special today.

I think the reason why…

View original post 395 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

