Skip to content

Happy Treaty of Ryswick Day! The Nine Year’s War is Over! The War of Spanish Succession will soon begin!

September 20, 2015

The Nine Year’s War is over! Rejoice! And thank Matthew Prior.

conradbrunstrom

Louis xiv

Today is the anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Ryswick in 1697.  Yay!   Hip hip something.  The Nine Years War is over.  Everybody take a short breather before The War of Spanish Succession Starts (which is basically kind of like the same war).  So here is Louis XIV, the world’s most powerful human.

I must I must I must put a proper pitch together for my Matthew Prior book.  I published an article on Prior and Diplomacy for Digital Defoe last year.

http://english.illinoisstate.edu/digitaldefoe/

And I’ve a chapter on Prior and Cowper in this volume as well.

http://www.palgrave.com/page/detail/Voice-and-Context-in-EighteenthCentury-Verse/?sf1=barcode&st1=9781137487629

If I don’t write a book on Prior I don’t know who will.  I anybody knows anybody who really is writing a book on Prior, then do please let me know so that I can get scared enough to speed up my writing.

Prior was a peacemaker.  Not just someone who…

View original post 375 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

