Skip to content

Whenever anyone talks about theirs being a “Christian” country, I know Jesus is going to have a very bad day.’

September 11, 2015

priest

Here’s a story that will inspire and depress at the same time.

https://uk.news.yahoo.com/hungarian-priest-extends-lonely-offer-help-migrants-063935282.html#8b9427w
A Hungarian priest has decided, against the wishes not only of politicians but of many bishops, to actually apply something like a Judaeo-Christian hospitality ethic to the current refugee crisis.  He’s decided that words in a book he’s professionally obligated to believe is sacred and relevant dealing with caring for strangers ought to inspire people calling themselves Christians to some sort of practical response.

He is a lonely lonely man.

What do people mean when they talk about “defending” Christianity when this defense of Christian so-called civilization involves a vehement repudiation of the personality and teachings of Jesus Christ?  When people who point out any kind of sacred obligation to love others are denounced in the most vitriotic terms imaginable.  By Christians.

The response to the great population movements of the past few months reinforces my belief that the biggest threat to European Christianity comes from the “Christians”.

What is “Christianity” for most of the people who invoke it?

I mean, what do these bitter, loveless xenophobes called “Christians” actually believe?

I suspect that for many if not most people calling themselves “Christian”, “Christianity” is primarily a sort of brand logo used to organise a set of economic and cultural privileges.

I think the process goes like this –

“I want to feel smug and good and entitled about things.  I want a vague unreflexive sense of well being.  I don’t want alternative visions of what it means to be human invading my peripheral vision. And I want this sense of smug entitlement to be given the highest authority I can think of.  I will call it God.”

“Now that I’ve called this thing God, I will also call it Christianity because this seems to be the version of God that seems most entrenched in the place where I happen to live.  My smug entitlement should be the foundational principle of the universe and Christianity seems warm and fuzzy and familiar thus boosting the whole smug feeling.”

“The important thing is not whether I ‘believe’ in this “God”.  This “God” believes in me, and I can wear my “Christianity” as badge of validating all that is most reassuring and familiar.”

“Since the preservation of my own cultural and economic privileges is the guiding imperative of the universe – the actual content of Brand-Christianity is irrelevant.  There can be no content to Brand-Christianity, no teaching, no code, and no example drawn from Brand-Christianity that can possibly conflict with the universe’s Prime Directive.”

“Anybody suggesting that I am supposed to show love towards people who might be a bit different from me who uses Bible versus to reinforce their point is clearly no Christian, since Christianity is mine.”

Jesus wept.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

