Skip to content

Triskaidekaphilia

June 13, 2015

conradbrunstrom

triskaidekaphilia

My wife and I first kissed on the thirteenth of June. Friday the Thirteenth of June if you must know. We subsequently married on the same date – June the 13th. My father’s birthday was the 13th of October and our house number growing up was No. 13.

I suppose we’re to be classed as triskaidekaphiliacs. All my life (or as long as I can remember) I’ve always had a certain exaggerated contempt for popular superstitions. I used to almost go out of my way to walk under ladders. I wouldn’t actually go so far as to smash mirrors – but that’s only because mirrors are both useful and expensive and I hate having to sweep up broken glass.

The worry of course is that over-deliberate and overly rejection defiance of a superstition only reinforces the same superstitious grammar. Once you defy triskaidekaphobic folly to the point…

View original post 162 more words

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

