Skip to content

Getting the Christmas Blogs down from the Attic…

November 29, 2014

attic

It’s been this weekend that I’ve discovered it’s time to root around and rummage.  Last year’s Christmas blogs have been gathering dust in some kind of darkened nook and I have no sort of idea what state they’re in.

So I suppose I should drag them into the light and check what state they’re in before I expose them to public view again.  They are a bit like decorations and tree ornaments really.  Some of the blogs were acquired in altered-state conditions – others in something of a panic.  When checking a number of the blogs I’ll no doubt ask myself “what was I thinking?”

There’s the tedious job of checking some of the blogs and seeing if they still work.  Some of them will be mysteriously missing various prepositions and conjunctions.  Some of them can be fixed and some are just not worth fixing.  Some must be deleted while I try to find a replacement.

Then there are the really cheesy rather embarrassing blogs – the ones you love to hate and hate to love.  Yet their sheer awfulness appears so much part of the festive season that somehow you know you’ll never part with them.  Everyone will groan when you put such and such a blog up but everyone has been looking forward to groaning.  The groaning and complaining has achieved a king of comfortable and liturgical status.

I suspect I’ll find my “sprouts” blog early on.  Nobody likes spouts – and nobody likes “sprouts blogs” either – but if the sprouts blog wasn’t on the plate somehow – well – I think it would be missed.

The real holiday is of course all about a certain mechanical repetitious quality of response that we’re all allowed for a few weeks.  One great underrated quality of Christmas is that it frees us from the pressure of original thought.  We can surrender to cliché – give ourselves over to cliché entirely.  Sometimes the the clichés  need a little renovation but there’s a strong a deliciously lazy quality to a special time of year when words are all second hand – a bit chipped – definitely in questionable taste – but instantly available – and to be packed carefully away and stored once Christmas is over.

“Back!” – I say.  “Back into the darkness with you!”

I love January.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Reblogged this on conradbrunstrom and commented:

    It’s that time of year again…

Leave a Reply

